English Review/Post · Readathon · tbr

Orilium TBR – The Novice Path – Magical Readathon

Aeldia map in colour-1.jpg

This is Aeldia, the world G created for her wonderful Magical Readathon 2.0. Completely new and shiny and incredible! It’s honestly mindblowing how much work, and love, and dedication went into this!

If you wanna know all the details watch the announcement video here (if you haven’t already, since this is up super late. Half the month is already over …)

The Novice Path-1 2.jpg

Since I really struggle to read lately, I’ve decided to create my character in another month, we have till April, so I’m gona make use of that generous timeframe.

But to actually be able to study at the Orilium Academy you have to pass The Novice Path. And that’s what I’m trying to do!

My brain is working a bit against me (as usual) so we’ll see how it actually goes, so far I haven’t read a single thing. I’m gonna have a virtual sleepover reading weekend in two days though, so fingers crossed I can read a bit (a lot) then.

As I’ve said, I’ve been struggling a bit with reading lately. Especially with picking up a fantasy book so while I’m gonna set a tbr … I might just switch books around but this is what I’ve got planned for now.

The Novive Path Entrance: read a book with a map

56222159._sy475_ 853510._sy475_ The Bone Witch

For this I have three options. I could go the easy route and choose an Agatha Christie book, like Murder on the Orient Express as I’ve been told some editions have a map of the train in them. But mine doesn’t … so it does feel a tiny bit like cheating. Might do it anyway to get this going though.
The other two options are both fantasy (not surprising with this prompt) and one would make a friend of mine quite happy and that is The Bone Witch. I read this one a while ago and absolutely loved it. It’s one of my all time favorite books and this would be in preparation of finally continuing the series. But I kind of don’t want to read it when I’m in this mood because I don’t want to enjoy it less just because of how my mental health is, ya know?
The third option is Road Brothers. A collection of short stories about characters from Mark Lawrences The Broken Empire series. It’s shorter one and maybe good to read a story here and there in between other books? I’ve been meaning to get back to this world for a while now, too.

Ashtorn Tree: a book that keeps tempting you (or top of your TBR)

The Box in the Woods - Truly Devious - Maureen Johnson

Again, I could choose a couple for this but since our virtual sleepover is getting closer* I’m gonna read The Box in the Woods by Maureen Johnson for this one. I loved and binged the first three books in the Truly Devious series and was impatiently waiting for this one to come out and just got the beautiful hardcover for my birthday from a lovely friend! And it’s kind of a buddy read now, so even more fun!!

*editing me: Starting right now!

The Mist of Solitude: read a standalone

Rick by Alex Gino

Rick my Alex Gino. I’ve read George by them a few years ago and absolutely adored it and I’m sure I’m gonna love this one just as much. Also, it’s been a bit since I’ve read a middle grade and I feel like they are perfect for readathons. This is a book about finding ones identity and Alex Gino explores these topic so wonderfully and upliftingly without shying away from showing the difficulties.

Ruin of the Skye: read a book featuring ghosts/haunted house, or other supernatural elements

Tunnel of Bones by Victoria Schwab Shadow Stained by Rachel Hobbs

I have two options for this one. Depending on my mood and how much time I have. First one is another middlegrade and the second book in the Cassidy Blake series by Victoria Schwab, Tunnel of Bones. I quite liked the first book when I read it last year (I think) and would obviously fot this prompt perfectly since the main character can see ghosts.
Second option is probably more towards the supernatural elements and is a book for a blog tour: Shadow Stained by Rachel Hobbs. I don’t really know much about it except that it sounded really intriguing and that Ruby, the mc, has to team up with a demon to find some relic or something. I’m always down for a ‘have to work with the enemy’ kind of story.

Obsidian Falls: read a thriller or a mystery book

Now if this isn’t a prompt for my current mood! I have several I wanna read but I’m currently leaning towards either Plain Bad Heroines or The Maidens (or an Agatha Christie? For when the slump hits hard?)

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

But I think I’m gonna go for A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson. Another one I just got for my birthday and I’m dying to read it. I’ve heard so many good things about it and am really curious to see what I’ll think of it.

Tower of Rumination: read a five star prediction

Jade Fire Gold by June CL Tan

Okay, if a book is described with epic slow-burn romance … how can I say no? (Also, I don’t want to admit it, but the tag line of ‘perfect for fans of The Bone Witch’ kinda got me). Jade Fire Gold by June CL Tan sounds so good and I can’t wait to hop into this. Also, I’m doubly excited because I’m participating in a blog tour for this! It’s inspired by Chinese mythology and revolves around, if I’m not mistaken, revenge and forgiveness … Yes, please!

Orilium Academy: read a book with a school setting

The Devil Makes Three by Tori Bovalino

I just got a copy of The Devil makes Three by Tori Bovalino and it’s not only absolutely stunning but is set in a school library. It has a demon and maybe a little bit of love? It honestly sounds so good! And I’ve told you how into demons and unlikely allies. I don’t know much more about this but I think I want to keep it that way with this one.

 

Love, El red

Have any of you read any of these books? What were your thoughts? What do you plan to read soon?
Are you participatin in the Magical Readathon? Or Bookopolothon?
I hope you all have a wonderful reading month!

3 thoughts on “Orilium TBR – The Novice Path – Magical Readathon

  1. I participating in this readathon as well. I signed up a little late as well but luckily we only have to completely 2 books this month to be able to move forward. We can finish the rest of them anytime between now and April.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.