English Review/Post · tbr

Bookoplathon TBR

It’s the 1st of September now* and I’m starting to prepare my bookopoly board (the easy version, just printing the small board Becca provided) and the cards and everything to make my rolls.

*would you look at that … I didn’t manage to finish this post for 10 days. Yay me!

To be honest, I’m not sure this is a good idea since I just completed another month-long readathon, The Orilium Academy (Wrap Up will be posted soon (I hope – fingers crossed my head is going to be kind to me the next few days)) and it might not be the right thing to jump into another one right away. And I contemplated going the mood read route i.e. rolling as you go but I wanna try this the original way I think. My reading for Orilium was all over the place**, but I wanna challenge myself to be more focused again.

**you’ll see when I post my wrap up

I’m gonna go for 7 rolls. My reading has been absolute chaos this year and I have no clue anymore what is doable for me, as it’s so dependent on whether or not my brain is cooperating, but my ambitious ass didn’t want to go for 5, and I don’t like even numbers (5 also feels pretty even for an odd number) and I would have done 9 but that feels like a lot! Especially when I’m trying to actually read the book I’m choosing now and not swap them all over the place later.

So, the rules:

– 7 rolls
– add a roll for every double
– try to swap only one book later on if possible (this is my personal rule)

Roll 1: People on the Cover

Of course, roll 1 was immediately a double so I‘m already adding another book to my TBR. It‘s fiiiine. All is well.

For this one, I‘ll go for Way of the Argosi by Sebastien de Castell. I should have read this ages ago right when it came out (last year?) but for some reason, I didn‘t … so now is the time!
(Also it was the only book that I found on my shelves that has more than one person on the cover)

I really can’t wait to spend some more time with Ferius and I’m really missing Mr De Castell’s writing style.

Roll 2: Summer

Now, this is a bit of a difficult prompt for me because summer is the one season I don‘t have a specific type of that I associate with it. But with the help of the lovely people on the discord I went with Heartstopper Vol Alice Oseman (Or A Marvellous Light, but going with a graphic novel is the safer option)

Heartstopper Vol 1 was just a really feel good queer love story and we don’t have that many of them. I’m not as head over heels for this as some other people but I do really enjoyed Volume 1!

Roll 3: Favourite Genre

Another double … the rolls are not in my favour (or are they?)

This prompt caused my ongoing existential crisisTM to rear its head again … because what the hell is my current favourite genre. In general, it‘s definitely fantasy. But currently? I basically can‘t read fantasy unless I have a very good day brain-wise or it‘s one I already know (or it fits some unknown to me standard so that my brain accepts it). My current fav genre would probably be crime & mystery. But it feels wrong to put a crime book on here … so after freaking out a bit I decided I‘m gonna try to read The Bone Shard Emperor by Andrea Stewart. I loved the first one and the animal companion is amazing in this! So fingers crossed it works? But this might be the one I switch around and ultimately go for a crime book … we‘ll see.

Roll 4: Mood Read

Now, THIS is what I need!
I‘m definitely saving this for later and not picking a book just yet. I don‘t have to make my life even harder when bookopoly offers me a hand!

Roll 5: Community Shelf – Random Number Generator

Now … I have been a little dummy when creating my cards for this with all the prompts … because this prompt actually already exists on the board and you have three guesses what I landed on next -.-

But I decided not to switch it out and go for it. I got the number 115 and that corresponds to The Wren Hunt by Mary Watson. I don‘t really remember much about this book. Only that she has to run away though the woods from something?? And something happens?? (That tells you already too much, doesn‘t it? I‘m truly sorry for the spoiler ^^)

Roll 6: Randomise your TBR

Yeah …

Well, now I got 17 which is Uprooted by Naomi Novik. I had this book for ages and never wanted to read it but also never got rid of it.
If you don’t already know, this is a fairytale retelling

If you follow my Goodreads you already know that I managed to read this and actually really enjoyed it. (More on that in my wrap up or on my Goodreads)

Roll 7: TBR Game

Because I‘m horrible at making decisions I went to Becca‘s TBR Game playlist, got a random number generator and went with that video. There are multiple versions one can take this but I decided to take one of the generated prompts in the video: an author I have read before.

I‘m making this a little hard for myself by choosing Achtnacht by Sebastian Fitzek, but I had this book on my TBR for ages and it‘s signed and personalised so I really really wanna read it! It‘s crime/thriller, so in that regard, it should be doable but there is no audiobook on Scribd so that makes it a little tougher for me right now.

It’s about a death lottery, the person who’s name gets chosen is outlawed.
Anyone in Germany may kill him with impunity – and is rewarded with a bounty of ten million euros. It has been translated into a few different languages but I don’t think English is one of them

Roll 8: Features a Romance

Now we are talking. This is a wonderful prompt for my current attention span!

And I‘m gonna choose a reread, too. This is my soul comfort prompt and I‘m fully leaning into the comfy with Saphirblau by Kerstin Gier (Sapphire Blue) . I reread Rubinrot, the first in the trilogy for an Orilium prompt and now I gotta finish the series again. And the first one was so nostalgic and wonderful. It felt like home and I soo need that.

It’s about time travel and friendship and love! And again, it’s a warm hug for me. (Can’t attest to how well the atmosphere translated as my favourite thing about this series is the writing style)

Roll 9: Chance Card

This was supposed to be my last roll including the two doubles, but no, bookopoly had other plans and I got a double again.

The card I pulled was Wild Magic by Tamora Pierce. Another book I‘ve stayed clear of for ages. I can‘t even tell you why. But it‘s short! Here‘s to finally reading some of my TBR Veterans. Also again, absolutely no clue what this is about and I wanna keep it this way.

Roll 10: Community Shelf

Bookopoly decided to be really nice for the last roll and I got community shelf again and the prompt was: LibroFM* book. And I have so many wonderful books on there that I‘m really excited to read. But one definitely stands out: I‘m Glad My Mom died by Jennette McCurdy. It‘s her memoir about her relationship with her mom, the abuse she endured and her healing process. I‘ve heard so many amazing things about it and she narrates it herself which I think was 100% the right choice!

*referral code

Now, this is my bookopoly TBR and all in all I really can‘t say anything. It‘s both challenging but also has some easier books in between so I can vary genres, formats and difficulty depending on whether I have a good day or a bad health day.

I‘m so excited to continue with this and depending on how it goes I might play another round in October because so far I‘m really enjoying it. Or maybe I‘ll see if I can try another TBR Game.

What’s a book you are really excited about reading? Tell me in the comments below!

P.S. I might do another life/health update. There is quite a lot that happened since my last one. Would you be interested in that?

One thought on “Bookoplathon TBR

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.