Blog Tour · English Review/Post · Review · Review Copy

Blog Tour: The Inheritance Games

Thank you so much to Dave @ The Write Reads for the opportunity to participate in this blog tour, and thanks to the publisher for the review copy!

Title: The Inheritance Games
Author: Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Series: The Inheritance Games

Genre: YA Mystery

Published September 3rd, 2020
by Penguin

Length: 400 pages

Source: e-ARC through the Blog Tour | Publisher

Rating: 5 Stars
7

A Cinderella story with deadly stakes and thrilling twists, perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.

Avery Grambs has a plan for a better future: survive high school, win a scholarship, and get out. But her fortunes change in an instant when billionaire Tobias Hawthorne dies and leaves Avery virtually his entire fortune. The catch? Avery has no idea why–or even who Tobias Hawthorne is. To receive her inheritance, Avery must move into sprawling, secret passage-filled Hawthorne House, where every room bears the old man’s touch–and his love of puzzles, riddles, and codes. 

Unfortunately for Avery, Hawthorne House is also occupied by the family that Tobias Hawthorne just dispossessed. This includes the four Hawthorne grandsons: dangerous, magnetic, brilliant boys who grew up with every expectation that one day, they would inherit billions. Heir apparent Grayson Hawthorne is convinced that Avery must be a con-woman, and he’s determined to take her down. His brother, Jameson, views her as their grandfather’s last hurrah: a twisted riddle, a puzzle to be solved. Caught in a world of wealth and privilege, with danger around every turn, Avery will have to play the game herself just to survive

3

Omg, I flew through the pages! The Inheritance Games hooked me from the very ifrst page and just didn’t let me go. I stayed up till 4am to finish this book! So maybe plan carefully when you start it ^^

When I told my mom about the plot she said: Oh, so like these spam emails you always get where someone wants to send you 4 million dollar? And yes, exactly … only that for Avery, it is actually true!

I loved how this all started, with Libby (her older half-sister) never showing her the letters because … doesn’t really sound legit now, does it? But it is! And it’s a whirlwind of new (and dangerous) experiences.

Avery is a great main character to follow, she is clever, determined and quite funny in a dry type of humour. She had a lot to come to terms with, because even though it sounds like a fairytale … suddenly being the heir to a billionaire is not all roses and sunshine. People (understandably) want to know why. Only problem is, no one knows why. She is suddenly in the limelight. People notice her and study her every move.

Actually, all the characters are extremely well written. I loved that they all had their unique motivations, not that we get to know them all … but you can always see them shimmer right under the surface. You can feel how real these characters are. It was a delight to follow them. You could never be sure who would do what next. It kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time (or pacing the room … with the book in my face).

Even the side characters, like Sky and Zara, were intriguing. They were just as well developed as the rest, with their own fears and desires. And I’m sure some of them will play a bigger role in the sequel (that I’m already desperately waiting for!!)

I loved the Hawthorne brothers, all four of them. Because I wanted to like them (just like Avery) but I never knew if I could trust them. One minute I thought I had one of them figured out and then the next paragraph changed that in a second. I absolutely adored that!

The setting was just as vivid as the characters. The Hawthorne house has just as many secrets as the brothers and Tobias. Speaking of Tobias, I loved all the little tidbits we got to know about him only through his letters and his riddles. That was such a unique and intriguing way to get to know a person.

It’s been a few days since I finished this book but I’m already itching to reread it just to experience this astonishing and exhilarating ride again with all its secrets and twists and turns.

All in all … the only thing I can say is : read the damn book but be prepared to hate me after because you can’t read the sequel yet … Enjoy! 😇

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour: The Inheritance Games

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.